I've recently been giving a lot of my time towards video games.  I wanted to point out something that has always intrigued me in video games, and that is their dialogue.  For the longest time, video games dialogue was complete garbage.  Back then, developers would give minimal efforts to making voices sound good.  It is funny to see the transformation and importance that dialogue actually holds.  The writing for the story is huge, and being able to actively and accurately portray the feelings associated with a character (Call me a geek) can make you really feel for a character.  For example, in a game called Red Dead Redemption, we are given a lead character John Marston.  Now the thing about this lead character is that his voice was very prominent.  It was distinguished well, and it made a very good lasting memory about the character.  At the end of the game, some things happened that didn't end so well with Mr.Marston.  After we lost a sense of the character, you get to control his son.  The major difference here is the voice acting, where you go from prominent John, to his not so prominent sounding son.  The author of the script clearly knew how to make an impression last.  It actually made me very sorrowful, knowing that a character that I came to love in a game, left such a mark on me with just the mere dialogue.   



Leave a Reply.

    Hey Im Carlos

    This blog is where I get to talk about experiences and thoughts I've received during English Composition 1.  I hope you enjoy your time here!

    Archives

    December 2013